Gouvernement Princier de Monaco
Print this page All the news
News
19 September 2020 News flash

Monaco and the Prevention of Torture Council of Europe Experts Visit the Principality of Monaco

With Laurent Anselmi, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, experts from the Council of Europe Committee: Mr. Philippe Mary, Ms. Ifigeneia Kamtsidou, Mr. Vitalie Nagacevschi, Mr. Régis Brillat, Mr. Juan Cabeza Gimenez and Ms. Corinne Magail, Head of Mission, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation. ©Government Communication Department/Manuel Vitali

From 15 to 18 September, Monaco was host to experts from the Council of Europe's Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.

This periodic visit of experts follows Monaco's ratification in 2005 of the Convention of the same name.  Today, this international treaty brings together the 47 Member States of the Council of Europe, which regularly receive experts from the European Committee on their territory.

This European Committee is not an investigative committee, but a non-judicial, preventive mechanism.  It makes recommendations to countries to help them, in particular, improve the material conditions of people who have been deprived of their liberty.  The experts are independent and impartial.  They may be lawyers, doctors, or specialists in prison or police matters.  Their role is to visit places of detention, such as prisons, police stations, psychiatric hospitals, detention centres for foreigners, etc.  

If a country does not cooperate or refuses to make improvements to a situation in the light of the recommendations made to it, the Committee may decide to make a public declaration.  In addition, it publishes a general report of its activities every year, which is posted on the Council of Europe's website.

The latest visits by these experts to the Principality in 2006 and 2012 revealed that no allegations of torture or mistreatment had been made in the Principality.

Autres actualités du thème

http://en.gouv.mc/A-la-Une-du-Portail/Monaco-and-the-Prevention-of-Torture-Council-of-Europe-Experts-Visit-the-Principality-of-Monaco

Gouvernement Princier de Monaco
Imprimer la page Toutes les Actualités
Actualité
19 septembre 2020 Dépêche

Monaco et la Prévention de la Torture, Des Experts du Conseil de l’Europe en Principauté

Autour de Laurent ANSELMI, Conseiller de Gouvernement-Ministre des Relations Extérieures et de la Coopération, les experts du Comité du Conseil de l’Europe : M. Philippe MARY, Mme Ifigeneia KAMTSIDOU, M. Vitalie NAGACEVSCHI, M. Régis BRILLAT, M. Juan CABEZA GIMENEZ, et Mme Corinne MAGAIL, Chargé de Mission, Département des Relations Extérieures et de la Coopération ©Direction de la Communication/Manuel Vitali

Du 15 au 18 septembre, Monaco a accueilli des experts du Comité du Conseil de l’Europe pour la prévention de la torture et des peines ou traitements inhumains ou dégradants.

Cette visite périodique d’experts fait suite à la ratification, en 2005 par Monaco, de la Convention éponyme. Aujourd’hui, ce traité international rassemble les 47 Etats membres du Conseil de l’Europe amenés à recevoir, régulièrement, des experts du Comité européen sur leur territoire.

Ce Comité européen n'est pas une commission d'enquête mais un mécanisme non judiciaire, à caractère préventif. Il adresse aux pays des recommandations pour les aider à améliorer, notamment, les conditions matérielles des personnes privées de liberté. Les experts sont indépendants et impartiaux. Ils sont juristes, médecins, spécialistes des questions pénitentiaires ou de la police. Ils ont pour mandat de visiter des lieux de détention tels que les prisons, les postes de police, les hôpitaux psychiatriques, les centres de rétention pour étrangers, etc.

Si un pays ne coopère pas ou refuse d’améliorer la situation à la lumière des recommandations qui lui sont faites, le Comité peut décider de faire une déclaration publique. Il publie, en outre, chaque année, un rapport général d'activités diffusé sur le site Internet du Conseil de l’Europe.

Les dernières visites effectuées par ces experts en Principauté en 2006 et 2012 ont révélé qu’aucune allégation de torture ou de mauvais traitements n’avait été faite en Principauté.

Autres actualités du thème

http://www.gouv.mc/A-la-Une-du-Portail/Monaco-et-la-Prevention-de-la-Torture-Des-Experts-du-Conseil-de-l-Europe-en-Principaute

Aide non-voyants pages internes

Article d'introduction visible sur chaque page interne par les lecteurs d'écrans